namaste - I bow to the divine in you

Alla inlägg den 12 februari 2010

Av fredrik binette - 12 februari 2010 11:30

yesterday I sat and listened to the aarti chanting that I like so much,
and I then looked up in my book to see what they actually said since I did the "mumbling version" I realized just what I thougt it sounded like when I "sang" the chant to myself when walking around ha ha
just the first row or so wich is the start and "sets the mood"...

when reading this I got curious what this word ment "vigna vinayaka" that I enjoyed the feeling of so clearly, since the first row is
"jaya jaya aarti vigna vinayaka, vigna vinayaka, sri ganesha"

I my search on the internet I then found out that my favourite hindu god "ganapati" [ganesha] has 108 names [all dietys have 108 names] & 32 forms, and one form is Vigna Vinayaka: the Gold-colored and eight-armed Ganapati..
vigna is from Avigna = One without obstacles
vinayaka = lord of all
so I guess the main name for ganesh in the sence of "the one/lord that removes all obstacles is Vigna-Vinayaka
interesting, allways learning something new.

and.. the importence in this [for e personally] is that Ganesha for me is the remover of all obstacles, that is what my main aim & trust in him focuses on..
I even have a tattoo of ganesha on my lowerback, someday I will make it more spiritual and more nice like another step in appreciation.
when I meditate and sometimes use my mantra it is also "AUM gam ganapate namaha"... 
..and in my yoga studio there is a smaller Ganesh wooden statue [but he deservess a more proper alter].. and above the door on the inside of the studio there is now an small ganesha metal wall-hanging that I bought on my last trip in asia..

when reading a bit more of course it is primary the remover of obstacles in your spiritual search, but what is really the difference, for me it is mostly all about a journey in mind that we do and there is the spirutuality a main thing we [or I] realizes when getting older.. so it is the remover of all obstacles that are not physical perhaps he he.

 

  

some bonus information about: 108...
maybe you have noticed 108 here & there before in the yogic & holy world.
108 it is a sacred number
example: sanskrit has 54 syllables and multiplied with 2 [shiva + shakti] is 108.
all real sacred malas [rosarys] should have 108 beads,
and many buddhist temples have 108 stairsteps.. buddhism has also kept this old symbolism as you can see in many forms of buddhism today. [Zen, tibetan etc].
the mystical powerful yantra pictures are suppose to have 54 lines wich each have male & female quality - 108.
there are 108 sins in tibetan buddhism... and so on.

 

so.. it all started with me being a bit curious about what this word in hte chant I lked was & then what i ment..
I like sudden impulses to find out a new small thing now & then..

AUM Gam Ganapate Namaha

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards