namaste - I bow to the divine in you

Direktlänk till inlägg 24 augusti 2010

the Ashram in Germany

Av fredrik binette - 24 augusti 2010 09:27

so a shorter resumé of my 10day stay at the ashram in Germany. 


when I arrived at the ashram after flying and riding with the train, I got picked up at the trainstation.
my first reaction in my mind when I saw this place was that it was SO big! it looked like a huge hotel complex somehow, and someone later said to me it was actually an old hospital-like building earlier. but I am not sure..
after a few days I realized it was actually even bigger with some more buildings and a lot of people sleeping in tents.. when I was there it was of course summertime so many have holiday, and it was about 500 guests/yogis/particapants there. and 120 people working there, some as karma yogis [volonteurs] and some as contracted staff members.

everythng was so "arranged" if compared to the ashram in India, or maybe better way to explain it "it was more westernized" and this is ofcourse natural since we have other resourses.

I liked beeing there but for me somehow it never gave me the right feeling or energy. it was sometimes a bit to light and a bit like a factory in the sence that it was so big and so many different courses there at the same time [wich is also great that they can offer so many things!].

in my doorm [wich was actually a room with 4 bunker beds] there was just 3-4 others staying, and they were all participating in a buddhist tantra course, so most of the days they had to be silent so my room was very quiet and they had gone to bed already every night when I came back from my last lecture of my course ha ha

and most sad in my point of view is that it was much less internationally adjusted then I had thought, so basicly I felt like a stranger in a german speaking ashram sometimes ha ha.
all the signs in german, al the information in german and all classes in german etc.
my course was led by a Swami english spoken, so the course said in English.
but then it turend out that only her lectures was in english [and with a german translater who transalted averything so it all took the double amount of time to go thru.
and then the actual asana practice was in german, luckely I have the experience and some german words are similar to english or swedish so I could join without to much trouble, and also when hearing some words many times you start to learn.. shenke=leg and so on.
after I asked they arraged a person comming to most classes to translate if I didn get it.
so all and all okey, but you miss out on many small details that different yoga teacher individuals teach, the small things you sometimes get inspired of so that was a bit sad.
they should have been much more clear in the information about this fact that just parts were in english.
I was the only none german person in my course and we were about 20 participants.

I did learn some, and it was great to see the differences they did compared to what I am used to.

I have to say that this ashram in their yogic practice in many ways actually felt more sensere then in India ashram.

so my 10 day ATTC course was for sure okey, and the whole trip there was of course an lifetime experience that I am very happy that I did.
but it was not realy what I have expected.. but that is often the case when going for the first time to a place..

here are some pictures:

1. the main ashram building


2. the yoga hall [Lakshmi hall if I remember correctly]


3. my bed in the "doormitary"


4. my last satsang, it was sent live on internet you can see Swami Atma on stage.  

 
 
Jelena

Jelena

25 augusti 2010 09:31

roligt att läsa om upplevelsen.

http://yogaaum.blogspot.com

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av fredrik binette - 30 november 2010 23:46


   this year we decided to go a litllte bit christmas inspired at the studioso my other half "A" made christmas candy that we packed into cute bags with x-mas decoration. mozartkugel [mozart kulor]knäck-toffeeginger, sesame & apricot-chocolatesa...

Av fredrik binette - 25 november 2010 16:31


   as usual I have a tendency to think about things, and realizing how "confusing" yoga sometimes can feel.. or rather how deep this philosphy can be and how different it can be explained form different individuals.. the way I see it yoga as it ...

Av fredrik binette - 18 november 2010 11:36


   so in yoga breathing is major part, in my tradition "proper breathing" is one of 5 main points of yoga. in yoga we call it pranayama wich is the different tecniques of conscious breathing and also breath retentions.prana is the so called...

Av fredrik binette - 15 november 2010 15:59


   this friday to sunday I arranged a short intensive yoga weekend at my studio.they had one 2h class friday evening and a 15minute meditation before we treated them with a orient inspired rew red rice and chickpea salad.then half past eight nex...

Av fredrik binette - 9 november 2010 09:32

   today is November 9th, that is the day when 17 years ago Swami Vishnu-Devananda attended mahaSamadhi and left this earth life. it is said that one who is enlightened [as many also refered to as the state of Nirvana] you can in your sadh...

Skapa flashcards