namaste - I bow to the divine in you

Direktlänk till inlägg 6 maj 2010

proper relaxation

Av fredrik binette - 6 maj 2010 17:48

in Sivananda yoga [wich is the backbone of my teachings in yoga] relaxation takes a huge part.
this tradition wich also is the most common yoga school of classic hatha yoga in Inida and the world today [I think] they are following 5 points of yoga.
proper relaxation it self is one of the five points


so each and every class I start & end with a deeper consious relaxation lying down on the back in savasana.
my students/participants often comment on how nice it feels to start this way and for me I belive it also gives a better mental level to use during the more physical parts of pranayama & asanas comming after the first relaxation


savasana it self is [what I have learned in my studies] if doing it correctly it is also the most beneficial position for your body to get to a deeper relaxation, so has even some west-world researchers agreed on.


savasana: feet shoulder wide apart and relax your ankles, arms 45 degree angel away from your body with palms facing upwards and let your fingers gently curve, chin slightly in towards the chest to lengthen your spine all the way up in the neck.
if using blanket it is actually better to let the hands be on top of the blanket, since our fingertips are one of the/the most sensitive body parts with nerves etc so the weight/touch of the blanket can actually make a difference in us letting go of the surface.


the way my yogi master tought I would say we are doing some similar thing to "yoga nidra" in the final deeper relaxation, so in that sequense we are leading the relaxation almost all the way.
this is to guide the yogi practitioners within their body and to consiously be aware of feelings & sensations and to learn the technique of using your mind to tell your physical body to relax and feel the difference with that same awarness.
this also makes your brain activity low/slow/relaxed/collected wich is mentally rejuvenating.


quit many other yoga forms they do some talk and then let the participants rest by them selves in a nice quiet peacefull moment, that feels very nice of course and is also good.
the difference though and also for the ones during my classes that automathicly falls asleep [wich is common to do when you are very deep in relaxation] is that the moment you start to doze of or sleep your brain activity gets higher again because of the dreaming process


so today when I went by my yogastudio it was time for childrens yoga, and the children came before the teacher and we had ayurvedic treatments going on so...
my buddha partner Annika got them to lie an wait for the teacher in a Savasana-like position and put small towells over their eyes,
and I think it has never been this quiet before children yoa class : )
it is usually like a tornado sweeping by for about 1 hour then we all need to take a few deep breaths afterwards when they have left after their class ha ha.


so I took this picture of the children today because I was amazed and also it looked so peacefull and nice..

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av fredrik binette - 30 november 2010 23:46


   this year we decided to go a litllte bit christmas inspired at the studioso my other half "A" made christmas candy that we packed into cute bags with x-mas decoration. mozartkugel [mozart kulor]knäck-toffeeginger, sesame & apricot-chocolatesa...

Av fredrik binette - 25 november 2010 16:31


   as usual I have a tendency to think about things, and realizing how "confusing" yoga sometimes can feel.. or rather how deep this philosphy can be and how different it can be explained form different individuals.. the way I see it yoga as it ...

Av fredrik binette - 18 november 2010 11:36


   so in yoga breathing is major part, in my tradition "proper breathing" is one of 5 main points of yoga. in yoga we call it pranayama wich is the different tecniques of conscious breathing and also breath retentions.prana is the so called...

Av fredrik binette - 15 november 2010 15:59


   this friday to sunday I arranged a short intensive yoga weekend at my studio.they had one 2h class friday evening and a 15minute meditation before we treated them with a orient inspired rew red rice and chickpea salad.then half past eight nex...

Av fredrik binette - 9 november 2010 09:32

   today is November 9th, that is the day when 17 years ago Swami Vishnu-Devananda attended mahaSamadhi and left this earth life. it is said that one who is enlightened [as many also refered to as the state of Nirvana] you can in your sadh...

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards